kitchentuta.blogg.se

Star wars ship sizes
Star wars ship sizes








star wars ship sizes

There are plenty of fans out there who have worked up all kinds of comparison charts on their own.

star wars ship sizes

Just don’t ask anyone how long the Defiant is. (And of course, I live on those kind of size discussions at message boards like the Flare Sci-Fi Forums. Star Trek and Babylon 5 were easy, because those are some of the best-documented as far as the sizes of (most) of the ships are concerned. really big.” The question is, just how big is “big”? So I started to gather a list of the sizes of various science fiction ships. When Farscape’s John Crichton first saw Moya, he exclaimed, “That’s big. Since the entire technological background is fictional anyway, the writers can simply make up any solution that they wish for the sake of the plot.Īlthough I’m not that interested in the technological comparisons between series, I’ve occasionally wondered about how a certain starship would compare in size to those of another series. Although an antimatter warp core may be the most powerful reactor in Star Trek, there’s no telling how that might compare to the Minbari’s quantum singularity core or a Leviathan’s hetch drive. (Imagine the spectacular effects for that encounter!) But I remember that each series is based around its own quasi-scientific principles. That’s not to say that I haven’t occasionally speculated about the results of cross-series encounters - I’d love to see Babylon 5’s Shadows go head-to-head with a Borg Cube someday. Rather than waste time proving that the Imperial Star Destroyer can blast Kirk’s Enterprise into molten slag, I prefer to enjoy each story based on the merits of its own setting and plot. Generally, I don’t buy into most of the incessant crossover debates that frequently rage on certain sci-fi bulletin boards. And Babylon 5 stole my heart with its stirring, inspiring, all-encompassing series arc about the conflict between Order and Chaos. Farscape caught my eye because of its refreshing, casual tone and the writers’ willingness to take risks in order to produce an exciting, entertaining series.

star wars ship sizes

I love Star Trek for its optimistic tone and its incredibly detailed universe. The infinite realm of possibilities presented through these stories has great appeal to me - but I’ve loved different shows for different reasons. Since then, I’ve become obsessed to varying degrees with shows including Star Trek, Babylon 5, Farscape, Battlestar Galactica, and others. I have been a fan of science fiction for more than twenty years, since my parents introduced me to Star Wars some time in 1991. Starship Size Comparison Charts » Star Trek Minutiae










Star wars ship sizes